City of Time and Magic

Read More

The Witch’s Daughter

This New York Times Bestseller is an enthralling tale of modern witch Bess Hawksmith, a fiercely independent woman desperate to escape her cursed history who must confront the evil which has haunted her for centuries. My name is Elizabeth Anne Hawksmith, and my age is three hundred and…

Read More

The Little Shop of Found Things

An antique shop haunted by a ghost.A silver belt chain with an injustice in its story. An adventure to the past she’ll never forget. Xanthe has always had an affinity with some of the antiques she finds. When she touches them, she can sense something of the past they come…

Read More

The Witch’s Knight

A girl destined to become Queen Witch.

A knight sworn to protect her throughout time.

A supernatural battle between good and evil.

An epic tale of love, magic and adventure that spans a thousand years. Perfect for fans of ‘Discovery of Witches’ and ‘Highlander’.

Read More

Paula Brackston

Welcome to my website! Grab a cuppa, pull up a chair, make yourself at home. I hope you will visit often and enjoy finding out about my books and how I write them.

 

After nine years of submissions, learning my craft, selling short stories, and taking a Masters Degree in Creative Writing, I found a publisher for my first novel. ‘Book of Shadows’ (as it then was) was taken up by Snowbooks, a wonderful, small press who had a rare open submissions policy. A year later, the US rights were bought, we reworked the story, and it became ‘The Witch’s Daughter’. When my little book made the New York Times bestseller list, St Martin’s Press became my main publisher. Since then I have published seventeen novels and hope to write many more.

Read More

Screenwriting

Click here to see my projects in development! I have two feature film screenplays currently with a producer, and several other adaptations and original stories at various stages.

Also, you can view my short film, The River, which we filmed during lockdown in 2020. This historical drama was made for a micro budget of £1,000 and filmed entirely on my iPhone on location in Hereford.

Find out more

Reading Guides

Here’s where you’ll find the reading guides for most of my books, with background information about the stories, and questions to hopefully spark lots of debate among Book Groups!

FIND OUT MORE

Become a Book club member

Sign up for FREE membership of Paula’s Book Club! On joining, you get to choose a FREE short story ebook. You will be sent Newsletters containing Sneaky Peeks at new projects; Alerts of upcoming offers, competitions and giveaways; Paula’s Picks of a Good Read or a Good Watch; glimpses into my writing process in The Creation Of…; and research information of all things historical in my books in Background Facts.


BLOG

Summer Reading Spot

Where is your favourite place to curl up with a good book? Now that my manuscript is […]

READ MORE

Giveaway Winner!

Favourite animal competition results. Last month I asked you to choose your favourite animal from one of […]

READ MORE

April Book Club

Restoration by Rose Tremain – the book and the film!  ‘Restoration’ by Rose Tremain is both a stupendously brilliant […]

READ MORE
READ ALL ARTICLES